Moving position of Logo

Moving position of Logo

Postby Helena » Sat Mar 09, 2013 1:37 am

phpBB Version; 2.0.? or 3.0.? : 3.0.11
phpBB Type: Standard
MODs installed: Yes
Your knowledge: Beginner
Boardlink: http://theholyburble.com

What changes, if any, did you make just before the problem started?


What have you already tried to solve the problem?


Description and Message
Hi, I would like to move the Logo a few pixels lower, its kinda jammed up at the top, where can I do that??
Helena
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 1:29 am
are you here: yes

Re: Moving position of Logo

Postby lumpy » Sat Mar 09, 2013 11:48 am

Hello Helena, welcome to phpbbace


open the art_deluxe/theme/layout_global.css file in your text editor and find this:
Code: Select all
body {
    margin: 0;
    padding: 0;


in that section, change the padding to 12px so it will look like this:

Code: Select all
body {
    margin: 0;
    padding: 12px;


save the file and upload back to the server using your ftp program.

then, in your admin panel, styles tab;

on the left side click on the theme link
then on the right side, click on refresh for art_deluxe

then, go back to your board and refresh your browser.


that should fix it right up.

thanks,
roberrt
*********************************************************************************************
If you are happy with my services, please consider a donation by clicking on the donation button below so I can continue to provide help.
Thank you
Image
lumpy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 9:16 pm
are you here: yes

Re: Moving position of Logo

Postby Helena » Sun Mar 10, 2013 5:49 am

Hi Robert, just did all of that, and indeed the values appear to have changed as they should, However the Logo is the same, squished up there at the top. :?

Includes a grab of acp styles/ theme.
Attachments
theme.png
(23.89 KiB) Downloaded 8795 times
Helena
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 1:29 am
are you here: yes

Re: Moving position of Logo

Postby lumpy » Sun Mar 10, 2013 10:50 am

two things;

1. you did not put the px in the file.
it should read padding: 12px;

exactly like that
and ,

2. do NOT make these edits from the admin panel style editor.

you MUST download the file to your computer using ftp and edit using a text editor.

if you edit in the admin panel, the edits will be removed the first time you refresh the theme or purge the cache.


robert
*********************************************************************************************
If you are happy with my services, please consider a donation by clicking on the donation button below so I can continue to provide help.
Thank you
Image
lumpy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 9:16 pm
are you here: yes

Re: Moving position of Logo

Postby Helena » Sun Mar 10, 2013 12:19 pm

Hi, yes I edited the file on notepad++, uploaded it with ftp. I didnt copy and paste though and being dyslexic didn't see or didnt notice the px..DUH!! :P

OK, I repeated the process, something happened but not what I hoped for. I now have a border showing up top, the logo is in the same place still. The border is rather nice however..
Helena
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 1:29 am
are you here: yes

Re: Moving position of Logo

Postby lumpy » Sun Mar 10, 2013 3:14 pm

well, I wasn't expecting that either. if you want to keep that border leave it like it is.

If you still want the logo to drop down away from that border, try this:

open layout_main.css

find this:
Code: Select all
#header a {
    margin: 0;
    padding: 0;


change the padding there to 12px; and see what happens.


robert
*********************************************************************************************
If you are happy with my services, please consider a donation by clicking on the donation button below so I can continue to provide help.
Thank you
Image
lumpy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 9:16 pm
are you here: yes

Re: Moving position of Logo

Postby Helena » Sun Mar 10, 2013 4:47 pm

Did that, values changed, but Logo is the same..

Any other ideas? :D

As before, edited with notepad++, uploaded with fillezilla.
Attachments
main theme.png
(21.96 KiB) Downloaded 8789 times
Helena
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 1:29 am
are you here: yes

Re: Moving position of Logo

Postby lumpy » Sun Mar 10, 2013 10:44 pm

first, I made a mistake in my previous post.

find:
Code: Select all
#header a {
    margin: 0;
    padding:12px;

change it back to
Code: Select all
#header a {
    margin: 0;
    padding: 0;


in the same file, at the top, find this:
Code: Select all
/*
    Header and footer
*/
#header {
    margin: 0;
    padding: 0;


put your 12px for the padding there and see if it works.

also,

I am confused. you say that you are downloading the file, editing it and uploading back.

however, you are showing me the admin panel style editor in your posts.

why are you doing that?

robert
*********************************************************************************************
If you are happy with my services, please consider a donation by clicking on the donation button below so I can continue to provide help.
Thank you
Image
lumpy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 9:16 pm
are you here: yes

Re: Moving position of Logo

Postby lumpy » Sun Mar 10, 2013 10:58 pm

ok, I just installed the style on my test board.
I copied your logo and made the two changes.

12px for the body in layout_global.css
and
12px for the head in layout_main.css

I also changed the size of the logo image to what it actually is and it looks much better.

open :
imageset/imageset.cfg

the first line:

Code: Select all
img_site_logo = logo.png*59*257


change to:
Code: Select all
img_site_logo = logo.png*82*424


be sure to refresh the imageset after you do that.


robert
*********************************************************************************************
If you are happy with my services, please consider a donation by clicking on the donation button below so I can continue to provide help.
Thank you
Image
lumpy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 9:16 pm
are you here: yes

Re: Moving position of Logo

Postby Helena » Mon Mar 11, 2013 1:42 am

:D YES!!! result!! Logo position has move down.. I also got rid of the border again. Thanks for all the help.

PS, I was posting the grabs from the Styles in the ACP after I had refreshed to show the values had changed, but the logo position had not..
Helena
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 1:29 am
are you here: yes

Re: Moving position of Logo

Postby lumpy » Mon Mar 11, 2013 9:05 am

hey, that looks great. good work.

you did not change the imageset.cfg file to make the logo it's correct size yet.

did you want it to be smashed down smaller than it really is?


robert
*********************************************************************************************
If you are happy with my services, please consider a donation by clicking on the donation button below so I can continue to provide help.
Thank you
Image
lumpy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 9:16 pm
are you here: yes

Re: Moving position of Logo

Postby Helena » Tue Mar 12, 2013 3:05 am

lumpy wrote:hey, that looks great. good work.

you did not change the imageset.cfg file to make the logo it's correct size yet.

did you want it to be smashed down smaller than it really is?


robert

Done :D Looks great. Thanks for being so patient.
Image
Helena
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 1:29 am
are you here: yes

Re: Moving position of Logo

Postby lumpy » Tue Mar 12, 2013 10:39 am

looking good.

just let me know if I can help any further.


robert
*********************************************************************************************
If you are happy with my services, please consider a donation by clicking on the donation button below so I can continue to provide help.
Thank you
Image
lumpy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 9:16 pm
are you here: yes


Return to Basic Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron